Controlling permissions with Teams
Enabling Teams for your organizations gives you fine grained control over the permissions for each of your pipelines.
When you first enable Teams, a team is automatically created for your organization called “Everyone” that contains all users. This maintains existing access to pipelines for all the users in your organization.
You can see the teams that you're a member of on the Teams page in your Buildkite settings. From this page, you can add new teams or edit existing ones. By clicking on a team, you can view the members, pipelines, and team specific settings.
Organization level permissions
Users who are organization admins can:
- enable and disable teams for their organization
- create new teams
Team level permissions
Users who are team maintainers can:
- add users to existing teams, of which they are the maintainer
- remove users from their teams
- set read, write, and edit permissions for users on pipelines in their team
All users in a team have the same level of access to the pipelines in their team. If you need to have more fine grained control over the pipelines in a team, you can create more teams with different permissions.
User level permissions
Any user can create a new pipeline. If you have read, write, and edit permissions on a pipeline, you can also provide access to others. You can give access to a team that you're in, or a team that has been marked as 'visible'.
You can programmatically manage your teams using our GraphQL API. If you're creating pipelines programmatically using the REST API, you can add them directly to teams using the team's UUID. More information about creating pipelines can be found in our REST API documentation.
You can also restrict agents to specific teams with the
BUILDKITE_BUILD_CREATOR_TEAMS environment variable. Using agent hooks, you can whitelist builds based on the creator's team memberships.
For example, the following agent environment hook prevents anyone from outside of the ops team from running a build on the agent:
set -euo pipefail if [[ ":$BUILDKITE_BUILD_CREATOR_TEAMS:" != *":ops:"* ]]; then echo "You must be in the ops team to run a job on this agent" exit 1 fi
Will users (and API tokens) still have access to their pipelines?
When you enable Teams we’ll create a default team called “Everyone”, containing all your users and pipelines. This ensures that users, and their API tokens, will still have access to their pipelines.
How does Teams work with SSO?
When a user joins the organization via SSO, they’ll be automatically added to any teams that have the “Automatically add new users to this team” setting enabled.
Can I delete the “Everyone” team?
Yes you can delete or edit the “Everyone” team. To ensure uninterrupted access to pipelines we recommend creating new teams before deleting the “Everyone” team.
Once enabled, can I disable Teams?
You can disable teams by deleting all your teams, and then selecting “Disable Teams”.